Mortar Board Members

Mortar Board Members
Spring Initiation 2013

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Congratulations to the new Officers, Year of 2013/2014 

President: Christopher Beaudoin
Vice President: Andrew Wrisinger
Membership Chair: Katelyn Sanders
Secretary: Roze Brooks
Treasurer: Kira Cooper
Webmaster: Alexander Shinn
Alumni Chair: Lauren Crump
Historian: Rainiel Buenaventura

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Happy Tapping!

We just completed our week of tapping.  What is Tapping? Mortar Board has a tradition of "tapping" new members to let them know they have been selected to join mortar board.  A current member finds one of the inductee's in a scheduled class, and proudly announces their acceptance into our society.  Here's some of the surprised faces from Organic Chemistry 2 last week:


See you at the induction ceremony April 21!

Monday, April 16, 2012

Congratulations to our New Officers for the 2012-2013 School Year!

 Congratulations to our New Officers!
President: Frankie Barnhart
Vice President: Matt Kliethermes
Secretary: Ouzhan Kalantari 
Treasurer: Chris Beaudoin
Membership Chair: Rob Robinson
Historian: Jill Strayer
Activities and Programming Chair: Rose Brooks 
Alumni Relations: Bhavani Pokala
Webmaster: Sadie Alongi

As well as electing new officers, the UMKC Chapter of the Mortar Board National Honor Society is in the process of setting up multiple committees for the members to be involved with to ensure the smooth operation of the society. Among the committees available for members include:
•       Leadership Committee: with membership chair, secure eligibility lists and standards, organize the selection of new members, tapping ceremony, orientation activities, initiation ceremony. Work with Dr. Self to organize membership retreat as well as other team building activities that build leadership skills. 
•       Fundraising Committee: assist fundraising chair or treasurer to brainstorm fundraising ideas and organize fundraising events to raise money for books. Lead First Book fundraiser. 
•       Service Committee: strategically plan events that serve the campus or alma mater and execute Reading is Leading efforts. Organize and plan all community service events for membership. 
•       Social Committee: help the social chair to plan social events for the chapter as well as icebreakers for each chapter meeting.
•       Activities Committee: works with Activities and Programming chair to come up with ideas for Mortar Board week and other events throughout the semester, for organization funds. 
•       Advice Booklet Planning Committee: Design, create, and print the advice booklet for freshmen in time for Roo Fairs to begin. 

Sunday, March 18, 2012

A Welcome to New Members and an Honoring of those Graduating!

On March 11th, 2012, we gathered in the UMKC Student Union Theater to initiate our new members into the honor society. We also recognized two professors as honorary members, Drs. Kathleen Kilway and George Harris. The ceremony concluded with a video presentation of Mortar Boarders talking about what has been done this year in Mortar Board.

Spring 2012 Inductees
Sadie Alongi                            Ouzhan Kalantari
Gautam Anand                        Katelyn Kephart
Christopher Beaudoin              Sarah Meiners
Phillip Bolin                             Nishika Muddasani
Roseanna Brooks                     Denesh Ratnasigam
Andrew Dang                          Danny Riffel
Lydia DeGarmo                        Robert Robinson
Matthew Ditto                          Christopher Schiavo
Rachel Drabenstott                   Jill Strayer
Shea Durington                         Amra Suljic
Brooke Griffin                          Katherine (Kate) Tankel
Ryan Holbrook                         Patricia Townsend
Amy Johnson                           Jericho Velbis
Chelsea Jones                          Kaitlin Vogt
Kayla Joyner                           Jacob Zembles

We also had several members graduate from the society:

Spring 2012 Graduates
Alex Armfield                           Grace Llewellyn
Kenna Babcock                        Jeffery Masters
Brandon Carney                        Kody Merwine
Mary Cisetti                             Blake Montgomery
Steven Curti                             Lauren Meyer
Riddhiman Das                         Caitlin Nickols
Caroline Doo                             Vanessa Smith
Ashauntá Dorch                        Catherine You
Aubrey Frederking                 

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Apply for 2012-2013 School Year!

Apply to Mortar Board National Honor Society!

Requirements for application
·       Completion of at least 70 credit hours as of January 1, 2012
·       Cumulative GPA of 3.2
·       Exemplary scholarship, leadership, and service records
·       Commitment to involvement in Mortar Board activities throughout the 2012-2013 academic year

*Applications become available January 16th, 2012
*Applications due by 5pm February 6th, 2012

Contact Bhavani Pokala ( or Lauren Meyer ( for an application or more information.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Mortar Board has been busy this Semester!

The Delta Alpha chapter of the Mortar Board national honor society has been busy raising funds to meet the goals for which Mortar Board stands for. Mortar Board prides itself on promoting and enhancing literary efforts in those communities that receive less than ideal literacy support.

Mortar Board members have been busy with fundraising efforts.

September 19, 2011. Members set up table in the Quad selling snow cones to raise money.

Throughout the month of October til November 15th members will raise funds for the First Book Virtual Book Drive. Members have advertised the fundraiser all over campus and throughout the community to allow donations online.

The money that Mortar Board raises will buy books for low-income children in Kansas City. It is a worthy cause that directly benefits KC children.

Visit for more information.

Mortar Board is also raising funds by teaming up with California Pizza Kitchen on the Plaza.

On November 1, 2011 CPK is giving part of its profits for the entire business day to the Mortar Board honor society.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Congrats to the new Officers for 2011-2012!

Here are the new officers:
President - Lauren Meyer
Vice President - Brandon Carney
Secretary - Alex Armfield
Treasurer - Matthew Kliethermes
Membership Chair - Bhavani Pokala
Director of Communications/Webmaster - Jeff Masters
Historian - Vanessa Smith
Alumni Chair - Grant Gillett
Programming/activities chair - Kody Merwine

The next (and last) MB meeting of this semester is: Monday, April 18th 5-5:45pm (University Center- Alumni Room)